2014 C.W. Edgerton Award winner: Rebecca Melanson

Rebecca Melanson, a 2014 graduate-to-be (Ph.D.) of the Dept. of Plant Pathology and Crop Physiology, and a former president of the PPCP Graduate Student Association, won the department’s 2014 C.W. Edgerton Honor Award. She is pictured here with her advisor, Dr. Jong Hyun Ham. Congratulations Rebecca!

Dr. Edgerton, for whom the award is named, was a professor and long-time department head of what was known at the time as the LSU Department of Botany, Bacteriology, and Plant Pathology. His accomplishments included both applied and basic research. According to his biography in the July-August 1968 issue of Mycologia, “he taught, at one time or another, every course that was offered by [the Department of Botany, Bacteriology, and Plant Pathology],” and “at the time of his retirement his department was recognized as the outstanding center for graduate training in plant pathology in the south.”


Comments are closed.


Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: